Tuesday, September 18, 2007

One last Summer Program Picture with Roy Weiland and Dawn, courtesy of Dana Huoni

The Safe Communities Coalition wishes you a happy new school year! Hats off to all of you who are working with children and making a positive difference in their lives.

We recently received news that we will be awarded a continuation grant from SAMHSA (Substance Abuse Mental Health Services), which will enable us to continue working with the coalition goals and objectives. Last year, the coalition provided services for teen parents, the after school program, anger management workshops, life skills presentations, summer camp, and more. This grant will begin on October 1, 2007 and ends September 30, 2008. The following people are a part of this wonderful collaboration and we would like to thank all of them for their community support in helping make this life a healthier one for adults, youth and children of Santa Fe and Hitchcock Independent School Districts. This list is from the past year. If we have forgotten anyone, or if you have joined since and are not listed, remind us by sending an email...please!

Jane Ankney, Hitchcock I.S.D. Student Support Services; Gail Bixler LaFavers, SAMHSA Coalition Project Coordinator/Mark Kilroy Foundation; Amy Burlingame-An, STAR Program Director-Family Service Center; Lisa Burnam, Our Lady of Lourdes Principal; Phyliss Coleman, SFISD Assistant Superintendant; Barry Cook, Santa Fe Chief of Police; Theresa Etzel, SAMHSA Coalition Project Coord. Assistant; John Gerami, SFISD Chief of Police; Teri Goodman, District Director, Tx. State Rep. District 24; Dana Huoni, Treasurer SF Council on Alcoholism & Drug Abuse; Joe Dickson, Santa Fe City Manager; Helen Kilroy, Vice President Mark Kilroy Foundation; Jim Kilroy, President, Mark Kilroy Foundation; Andrea LaSoya, SAMHSA Coalition Outreach Coordinator; Carol Owens, Galveston Medical; Tamara Peoples, Galveston County Child Welfare Board; Kim Rich, CTE Coordinator Santa Fe I.S.D.; Beth Scully, SADD Students Against Drunk Driving; Christine Sykes, MKF Boardmember; Lynn Watson; Vicki Westover, President H.I.S. Ministry; Margaret Williams, SFISD Homebound/Mark Kilroy Foundation Secretary; Ruth Winter, SFISD After School Director.